What Does the Bible Say About Education?

Spring Break has me thumbing my beat up old Bible, this time in search of passages that expressly address the notion of education.  If you check out the Pages section of this blog you will find a list I have started.  By all means weigh in with your own suggestions.  I am surprised at how demanding and challenging this exercise has been.  I thought I knew a lot more than I do!

The idea I am pursuing is to list only those passages that directly approach the subject of education in the limited sense of “intellectual advancement” or learning to read, write, and otherwise improve our intellectual skills.  I am not suggesting that for education to be a biblical endeavor it must be directly addressed in Scripture. 

I do believe there are strong principles and reasons for pursuing an excellent education, but that for most of my career I have perhaps pressed the Scriptures into doing what it does not really do: directly instruct Christians in how to educate.  This opens up a lot of cans with worms in them, but I think it is necessary to pursue this line of thinking so that we can answer our own and other’s questions honestly.

1 thought on “What Does the Bible Say About Education?”

  1. You are so awesome! I don’t think I’ve truly read through
    anything like that before. So good to discover another person with a few genuine thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is needed on the web, someone with some originality!

Leave a Reply

