Fifth Grade Flies By

I enjoyed my day in Fifth Grade, but had to be called out a few times to be a headmaster, so it was not perfect.

Certainly by now I am seeing that I really have to be in the class to pass the class. I did poorly on most of the tests taken during this day.

I did enjoy opportunity to provide peer review of a student’s writing assignment. This was really fun because I love to write and this young man had good ideas but limited ability to get them out there. Simply asking him questions allowed for him to increase his ability almost painlessly.

It is amazing to me how much these students can tuck away in their minds. We were working through some “sound offs” on Ancient Greece and I was so happy to see them gaining knowledge that was withheld from me until college. If they will build on it and use it as they read widely, they will be obtaining a lot more education with a great deal less effort than I ever have.

Here we had a new experience as well, team teaching. One teacher has about half the day and the other the other half. It was nice to break things up in this way. It also allows for more concentration on fewer things. But it did mean that less was integrated between the two teachers.

Latin was a gas. I took their normal Friday test and just decided to try and be humerous because passing it was out of the question. There must be more ways to teach English and Latin grammar together that I wish to explore.

It does amaze me that the kids can have such great ideas run before them during class and then have such diverse discussions at lunch that are less than “up to par” with the classroom. We talked about all kinds of things but none of it really connected to class at the lunch table I sat at.

My getting called away to be headmaster several times was disconcerting this time around. My Day in the Life idea needs further work if I am to truly “climb in” and run with a class for a while.

One thought on “Fifth Grade Flies By”

  1. fifth grade is like the best. You’re older than all the other kids, yet do not have the everyday mysteries of a teenager.

    pnewb.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

